Del. Ingram named 2019 Legislator of the Year by state planning commissions

By: Contributed Report | Twitter: @DinwiddieMonitr
Posted: February 26, 2019 | 1:45 p.m.

VIRGINIA – Members and staff of the Crater Planning District Commission participated in a presentation to local Delegate Riley Ingram on January 31 at the Capitol where Delegate Ingram was presented the Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions’ 2019 Legislator of the Year Award.

Crater PDC executive director, Denny Morris, commented,“while serving on the Hopewell City Council and as Hopewell’s mayor during 1986-1991, Del. Ingram served on the Crater Commission and was always supportive of the Commission and its focus upon intergovernmental cooperation”.

He pointed to initiatives that Del. Ingram has supported in the region since he arrived in the Legislature in 1992, including:  scenic highway designations, Exit 45 infrastructure improvements, the location of the Rolls Royce manufacturing plants, designation of 19+ miles of the Appomattox River as a VA Scenic River, the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Logistics Systems, funding for the Friends of the Lower Appomattox River’s Appomattox River Trail projects, the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Manufacturing, the Biofuels Production Incentive Grant Program, Code RVA, transportation improvement projects to better accommodate the growth at Fort Lee, the Crater Youth Care Commission, funding for Weston Plantation, and funding for Richard Bland College, John Tyler Community College and VA State University, and much more.

Dr. Mark Moore, Chair of the Crater PDC and member of the Dinwiddie County Board of Supervisors, said “for a time prior to redistricting, Dinwiddie County was in Del. Ingram’s district and the County always appreciated his willingness to help on any issue that the Board of Supervisors brought to his attention, adding that Del. Ingram has always been very visible in the communities he represents and he takes the time to talk with people”.

Del. Riley Ingram is joined by a number of local leaders, including Prince George and Dinwiddie supervisors, county administrators and members of the Crater Planning District Commission (CPDC)

“Del. Ingram has been and continues to be a great supporter of Prince George County, and we have been the beneficiaries of his good work at the General Assembly as we all work to grow the region’s economy here”, said Donald Hunter, Prince George County Board Chair.

Attending the presentation ceremony were:  Denny Morris and Martha Burton from the Crater PDC, Dr. Moore & Brenda Ebron-Bonner from the Dinwiddie County Board of Supervisors, Kevin Massengill, Dinwiddie County Administrator, Donald Hunter, Chair, and Floyd Brown, Jr., Vice Chair from the Prince George County Board of Supervisors, Martha Shickle, Richmond Regional PDC executive director, and Wendy Austin, FOLAR executive director, along with Kevin Byrd and David Blount from the VA Association of Planning District Commissions.

Delegate Ingram is chair of the House Committee on Counties, Cities and Towns, senior member of the House Appropriations Committee and a member of the House Rules Committee and the House Committee on Privileges & Elections.  Throughout his years of service, he has at some time represented all or a portion of the following localities:  city of Hopewell, and the counties of Amelia, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Henrico, Nottoway, Powhatan, and Prince George.

Virginia’s 21 planning district commissions are celebrating the 50th anniversary of the establishment of PDCs in 1969, following the General Assembly’s enactment of the Virginia Area Development Act.  The purpose of PDCs is to encourage and facilitate regional solutions to problems of area-wide significance, by promoting the efficient development of the physical, social and economic policies to assist local governments to plan for the future.  VAPDC’s leadership created the Legislator of the Year Award to recognize General Assembly members who are actively engaged in public policy efforts that advance economic prosperity in the Commonwealth.

Copyright 2019 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips or Report an Error

Leave a Reply