Dinwiddie ‘Hometown Heroes’ nominations open

By: Michael Campbell | Twitter: @itsthesoup
Posted: November 2, 2019 | 1:45 p.m.

DINWIDDIE – Ahead of their yearly Black History Month program in February, Dinwiddie County has opened nominations for its annual “Hometown Heroes” recognition, which honors those current residents or natives who have made an impact on their community.

Nominations are open through January 4, 2020 and are open to nominees who are either a native or current resident of Dinwiddie and has “significant contributions in one or more of the areas of government, law enforcement, public safety, education, faith community, business, agriculture and/or the advancement of civil rights.”

The “Hometown Heroes” recognition provided by Dinwiddie County has become a tradition that residents and county leaders alike look forward to.

“This is the sixth year we have recognized Hometown Heroes and it has become one of our favorite nights of the year,” Dinwiddie County Board of Supervisors Chairman William Chavis remarked. “It is truly a blessing to recognize citizens who have made a difference in the lives of others.”

The Dinwiddie Board of Supervisors joins Elizabeth Tucker and Ralph Ruffin for a photo after honoring the pair as part of the annual Hometown Heroes celebration earlier this year.

Earlier this year during this year’s “Hometown Heroes” program, Elizabeth Mabry Tucker and Ralph Daniel Ruffin, Sr. joined the distinguished list of past honorees. Last year, Hattie Walker , Harold Walker, Legert Hamilton, Ruby Evans were recognized and in 2017, Doretha Moody, Dr. Marguerita Ragsdale and Thomas Hooker were added to a growing list of Dinwiddie community institutions, including Jesse Blackwell, Jr. Pauline Bonner, Ed Bracey, Yvonne Myrick, Geraldine Spicely, Elnora Perry, Rev. Herbert Anderson, Gloria Jones and former Sheriff Samuel Shands.

“We learn so much from our honorees each year. Their bios include stories of courage, strength, endurance, faith, family, and success. The men and women recognized by the Board have made an impact on the Dinwiddie community and we look forward to the recognition program each year.”

In terms of providing nominations, residents can either visit the county website and complete a fillable form or visit the county administration office at the Dinwiddie County Government Center at 14101 Boydton Plank Road for a hard copy form to complete. Nominations are due by January 4, 2020.

Copyright 2019 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips 

Leave a Reply