Dinwiddie School Board Recognitions

The Southside Virginia Regional Technology Consortium (SVRTC) has named Dinwiddie County Public Schools as a recipient of its Division Leadership Award. The SVRTC, which encourages the use of technology in schools, is made up of 25 area public school divisions.

Christie Clarke, the director of staff development and instructional technology for Dinwiddie County Public Schools, said that the award is competitive.

“You have to showcase your efforts and your things that you’ve done during this school year, and it has to carry out the mission of the SVRTC and promote the effective integration of technology in all grade levels,” Clarke said.

Technology Director Timothy Ampy recognized the impact that both the technology department and other school personnel had made on Dinwiddie’s success.

“You can’t win an award like this without all of us working together,” Ampy said

Every year, the SVRTC also recognizes individual staff members who have been nominated by each cooperating division, and Dinwiddie County Public Schools honored its nominees at the April 12 school board meeting. Brandon Drummond, who provides support to both Southside and Dinwiddie Elementary, received the Technology Support Award. Third Grade Teacher Ashley Burton of Southside Elementary was recognized with the Technology Teacher Award. Latia Pollard, an Instructional Technology Resource Teacher at Sutherland Elementary, received the Instructional Support Award for the division.

Leave a Reply