Merritt, Pittman to lead Dinwiddie School Board in 2019

By: Meredith Baker | Email: Click Here
Posted: February 6, 2018 | 1:45 p.m. 

DINWIDDIE – As is the tradition for local boards at the start of the year to reorganize and select their leaders for the calendar year, the Dinwiddie School Board has made their selections for chairman and vice-chair for 2019.

As part of their organization procedures, the Dinwiddie School Board selected District 5 representative Sherilyn Merritt to serve as chairman of the board in 2019.

Merritt now fills the position most recently held by William Haney. She thanked everyone for their support of the school board last year while it was under Haney’s leadership. 

“I ask that you support me, as well, and I will continue to support you,” Merritt said following her appointment to the role.

Serving next to her will be District 2 representative Barbara Pittman after she was selected to be the school board’s vice-chair in 2019.

Along with the elections, the school board also re-appointed Pittman to serve on the governing board for Code RVA, the technology and computer science-oriented regional school in Richmond, and District 4 representative Mary Benjamin to serve on the Rowanty Technical School Board. 

Pittman will also serve on the Appomattox Regional Governor’s School Board.  

Copyright 2019 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips or Report an Error

Leave a Reply