Moore re-elected to serve as Crater Commission chair

By: Michael Campbell | Twitter: @itsthesoup
Posted: July 21, 2018 | 1:15 p.m. 

DINWIDDIE – At its meeting on June 28, the Crater Planning District Commission re-elected its current officers for 2018-2019, with the Dinwiddie County Board of Supervisors chairman remaining in his leadership role for the coming year.

Dr. Mark Moore will continue to serve as chairman of the Crater Planning District Commission for the upcoming year, joined by vice-chair Steve Elswick, a supervisor from neighboring Chesterfield and treasurer Christina Luman-Bailey, who serves as a council member in the City of Hopewell.

Both Moore and Elswick have represented their localities on the Commission since 2012, while Luman-Bailey served from November 2006-2014 and then returned in January 2017.

In addition, Dr. Moore will continue to represent the Crater Planning District on the Region 4 GO Virginia Board, which is a bipartisan, business-led economic development initiative that is changing the way Virginia’s diverse regions collaborate on economic and workforce development activities, with Go Virginia supporting programs to create more high-paying jobs through incentivized collaboration between business, education, and government to diversify and strengthen the economy in every region of the Commonwealth.

The Commission’s June meeting was held at the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Manufacturing in Prince George County and members were provided a tour and an update on the extraordinary research work being done there for its 26 corporate members from around the globe.  

Additionally, five Virginia universities are members:  Old Dominion University, University of Virginia, Virginia State University, Virginia Commonwealth University and Virginia Tech.  The Commission has supported CCAM’s efforts to grow here and assisted in securing U.S. Economic Development Administration grant funding for the Advanced Manufacturing Apprentice Academy for which ground will be broken later this year.  The Apprentice Academy has also received financial support through the GO Virginia initiative.

In the 2018-2019 Budget and Work Program adopted at the meeting, the Commission will continue its transportation planning partnerships with its localities and state and federal transportation agencies.  There will be a collaborative effort with the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality on the development of the Virginia Chesapeake Bay Total Maximum Daily Load Watershed Implementation Plan Phase III. 

Under its designation as an Economic Development District, the Commission will continue to administer Petersburg Area Regional Tourism and the Procurement Technical Assistance Center and will continue to be an active participant in the Region 4 GO Virginia initiative and an active participant in the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Logistics Systems (CCALS).Page Two

Dr. Moore said, “the Crater PDC offers assistance and support to its eleven member localities and its focus is upon improving the Crater Region’s economic base and overall quality of life”.

The Crater Planning District comprises the counties of Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Surry and Sussex, and the cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Hopewell, and Petersburg.

For additional information, visit the Commission’s website at, or the PART website at, or call (804) 861-1666.

Copyright 2018 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips or Report an Error

Leave a Reply